Recommended Credit Card to Earn Mileage

Merry Christmas to everyone!

Many people loves to travel during the festive season. Personally I always choose to avoid the travel peak period as I am not a fan of crowd. Instead of heading anyway in December, I’ve just booked myself on a trip to Japan in April 2017. Due to my busy work schedule, I won’t be able to have any time for myself until March.

For this trip, I have decided to pamper myself and redeemed a return business class flight to Fukuoka on Singapore Airlines for my birthday trip. The total miles required is 80,000 and there is a 15% discount off redemption so I paid for the trip with 68,000 miles + S$108.70 for taxes and levy. Isn’t that a great deal?

Even after this redemption, I have miles left to redeem another trip for myself in the second half of 2017. So the question here is, how did I earned those miles?

Due to my work nature, there are times where I need to travel for work and the best part is that I can accumulate mileages on my hotel spends and other reimbursable expenses by crediting them to my personal credit card. Mileage does clock up easily when you incur weeks of hotel stay bills on your card.

There are many credit cards that allows easy accumulation of mileages. For myself, I am currently using the Citibank Rewards Card and DBS Woman’s World Card.

The Citibank Rewards Card can earn up to 10 reward points for every S$1 spent on clothes, bags or shoes or at department stores or online shopping websites. This translate to 4 miles for every S$1 spent.

The DBS Woman’s World Card can earn up to 10 DBS points for every S$1 spent on online purchases. This also translate to 4 miles for every S$1 spent.

Comparing this to other cards that I am holding such as Citibank PremierMiles, which earns me 1 miles for every S$1 spent locally and 1.2miles for overseas spending, the 2 cards above actually generates more miles for my monthly spends.

However, the Citibank PremierMiles card is actually good for making online travel booking as it earns up to 10miles for every S$1 spent!

In order to maximise your mileages earnings, there is no one best card to hold. For regular earners, I will highly recommend the Citibank Rewards Card as you just need to fulfil the basic MAS requirement.

For others who can meet the eligibility of other mileages credit card, it will be good to explore them too.

Disclaimer: This is not an advertising post for the credit cards. The above are based on my personal experience.
Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

